Thank-You Card DIY

I am THE WORST when it comes to sending a thank-you card to people. It’s really not an effort, but for some reason I can never get my act together. Not this time! I made sure that the Thank-You cards were an immediate priority! In keeping with everything I had done for the wedding, I decided to DIY the Thank-You cards too.

This time, I did not find the idea on Pinterest, I actually just came up with it on my own. Super proud of me here. We had a small wedding, so doing these cards is not going to be an enormous effort on our part, however, if you had 200 guests, you probably do not want to do the Thank-Yous yourself.

The idea I came up with involves blank postcard size paper, Washi Tape (because that stuff is super awesome) and a Sharpie. Really simple and inexpensive.

20130902-011357.jpg

You can find Washi Tape at any scrap-booking store, and I even saw some at Staples where I bought the blank post cards.

All I did was tape up the blank post card in a fun pattern, and write “Thank-You” in Sharpie. I practiced a font I liked on a separate piece of paper and sketched in pencil on the final before applying any Sharpie.

20130902-011745.jpg

On the back, I noticed the Sharpie bled through the card. The simple solution was glue another card onto the back. I then drew a line down the middle like a regular postcard and added lines for the address. Now all we have to do is personalize them!

20130902-011908.jpg

The biggest problem is actually getting all the addresses. If I was a better bride I would have kept a list…oops. So the “Being a Bride” tip of the day is: SAVE YOUR ADDRESSES! You can also provide envelopes near where the guests drop off the cards, that way they can fill out their address at the wedding and you don’t have to hunt them down.

Leave a Reply

