The Moving and Wedding Day Approach-ith

Today is the Two-Months-Till-Our-Wedding Mark! A normal bride would be touching base with all her vendors, talking over shots with her photographer, writing her vows, planning the nuts and bolts of the ceremony. Me? I’m picking up my whole life and moving it 8 states away.

In all the stress and planning, I have found a moment of excitement. We are renting a house this time, which is really exciting because we get more room to spread out and get to see what it’ll be like to own our own home. My excitement comes in figuring out how to dress up our rental house. As with any rental, we can’t paint, or alter the house in any way. But after doing a little research, there are LOTS of ways to make your rental house a home.

One of the most interesting things is decorating the bland counter tops that inevitably come with a rental. Apparently you can apply faux granite stickies to counter tops to jazz them up a bit, which is kinda cool!

I cannot vouch for the quality of the product because I’ve never tried it, but I think it’s kind of cool that there is basically a decal for your counter tops!

Lighting for your apartment is crucial. The lights that come with the place are usually horrible overheads. Invest in a few floor lamps, or sometimes you can replace the over head with a chandelier, just make sure that you can put it back when you leave!

To be honest, the biggest problem is the walls. I really want to know why landlords have to go with white. I understand the need for neutrals, but there are some really nice beige shades out there! So what’s a girl to do with white, unpaintable walls?

Answer: DECALS!

There are a TON of wall decals out there. They don’t harm the walls in any way so they are perfect for renters depressed by all that white. The website for the decals above is pretty pricy for the bigger decals, but there are some smaller ones that are affordable.

And last, but not least, my favorite way to dress up your apartment: Adorable Poster-Sized Pictures!

I think this would be great to do with wedding photos! Not sure I should tell him I’m going to blow us up to 10ft high and hang us in our house…

I have to find things to smile about during this time because if I stop and think about it for too long I’m pretty sure my head would explode. One more week here in Maine! I will miss it, but we’re looking forward to new things!

 

 

Leave a Reply

