DIY Chalkboads!

I had a great time while I was home! I gotta say though, not a fan traveling right now. My flight into Portland was delayed, then delayed again, then cancelled. Cue panic. The next flight into Portland wasn’t until 1:40pm the next day! I was able to squeeze into a flight to Boston that night and my superhero of a fiancĂ© drove two-and-a-half hours to pick me up! Suffice it to say that I am exhausted and not ready to travel any time soon!

While I was home my mom and I decided to do a little DIY-ing! I had wanted to make my own chalkboard paint for some cute chalkboard signs to put around as decor, I just hadn’t gotten around to it yet. My mom was ahead of the ball game and got all the supplies we needed! Instead of mixing our own paint my mom found chalkboard spray paint, which probably made it go on easier.

Here’s what you need:
Picture frames with glass
Chalkboard spray paint
Painter’s tape
Sandpaper
Chalk

Sorry I totally forgot to take a “Materials” picture! First, make sure you use your painter’s tape and cover your whole frame.20130411-190053.jpg

After covering the whole frame, get your sandpaper and sand the glass really well. The scratches you are causing will help the paint stick better.20130412-002135.jpg

After sanding, take the frame outside with your can of spray paint and prop it up as best you can.
When you start to spray make sure to keep moving, never stay in one spot on your frame otherwise you’ll cause drips on your frame. The best way of doing it is one coat at a time. I think 3-4 should be a good estimate. Although, I did a bunch at once, so I’m not sure how many coats we did, we just kept going till the can ran out.20130412-002655.jpg

When you are finished spraying, wait 24 hours for them to dry. We put the frames in the garage, but an indoor, undisturbed place is fine. After the 24 hours is up, take off the tape as carefully as possible.20130412-002921.jpg

Next take your chalk (read the instructions on your spray can for what kind of chalk to use) and rub it sideways all over your new chalkboard and erase with a felt eraser. You are now all done!

20130412-003828.jpg

These are great for the wedding, but I think they would also be really cute as home decor too!

4 thoughts on “DIY Chalkboads!

  1. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe
    guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa? My website goes over a lot of the same topics as yours and
    I think we could greatly benefit from each other. If you’re interested feel free to send me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent blog by the way!

  2. Wonderful site you have here but I was curious if you knew
    of any community forums that cover the same topics discussed in this article?
    I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get suggestions from other knowledgeable
    individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know.
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

