Truth Time: People Apparently Judge Your Wedding

A mutual friend of ours was (rather rudely) inquiring about why we were spending so much money on one day and decided to offer that they thought it was ridiculous. First of all, thanks for your input and so glibly bashing what I’ve been working so hard on for months. Secondly, this is not about anyone else but us. We want to throw a big party and promise our love in front of our family and friends, that’s important to us and it’s worth spending the money on.

When I first started planning a wedding I had NO IDEA how much a wedding costs. I think my fiancé had even less of an idea. We’ve had numerous discussions on the looming costs of this wedding and I’m pretty sure sometimes he was sure that some of the stuff I was getting was totally superfluous or an exaggerated cost.

I have to say, being a total penny pincher, I looked for every way possible to keep down the cost of this wedding. I found a relatively inexpensive venue, my mom is making gorgeous flowers, I am creating the decor mostly on my own and any vendors I hired I made sure to shop around to the best price. Even with all of that work, a wedding is still a very high cost and there really isn’t a way to get around it unless you have lots of favors you can call in.

Suffice it to say I worked my butt off to keep costs low and our wedding fun for our guests. And yet, people still judge the cost of our wedding. The fact is people who look at the money you are spending on a wedding have never had to plan one before.

I don’t want to discourage people from having the wedding of their dreams. I started this blog because I wanted to figure out how to keep costs low and share my journey with others, but at no point did I want to lie and tell you that “Oh you can definitely plan a wedding for $5000.” It is possible, but many times unrealistic for the masses. I want to be the voice of the middle-of-the-road, and what a realistic budget looks like.

At any rate, our wedding may not be the cheapest but it is not the most expensive either, it’s just right for our life and our budget. As long as you are spending what you are comfortable spending, don’t let anyone make you feel weird about it.

Ok I’m super sorry I don’t know how to end a rant…so now this:

20130324-163544.jpg
The results of Maine Maple Sunday! So okay has anyone else caught flack for the price of their wedding? What did you do about it?

Leave a Reply

