Calligraphy and Faking It DIY

So up until recently I always thought I would just write out our invitation envelopes in the nicest possible handwriting I could, because, well, I suck at printing. Somewhere between third grade and now my printing has become more like chicken scratch.

Were you aware that on the list of what to do month to month before your wedding, one of the items is “hire a calligrapher?” I would really like to know who has the extra cash to pay for printed invitations AND enough left over for someone to write out your envelopes? Believe it or not there is a solution! Whilst browsing the wonderful world of Pinterest, I saw a tutorial for faking calligraphy.

Now even though this tutorial eliminates the calligraphy pen and need for ink wells or cartridges, it still requires some skill…so naturally I was worried to try it. It certainly will require a lot of practice.

For this you only need two things! Well three…three things…I feel like the Spanish Inquisition Monty Python sketch…

You will need a computer, a very fine tip marker and some paper. Practice first! Don’t start on your actual envelopes!

20130312-163940.jpg
First look on your computer for a nice calligraphy font. It shouldn’t be too complex because you will need to sort of copy it. Unless your envelopes are see-through (and they do exist) than tracing isn’t an option, so you need to get fairly good at copying the cursive in your font.

20130312-164733.jpg
That is really the tricky part. Now, if you like the font I used, you can find it here, with the original tutorial.

Next, once you have copied down the letters, you need to make some lines darker than others, it’s what gives it its calligraphic quality. The best way to figure out which lines to darken is to remember whenever you made a down stroke. You can use the font you picked as a guide, but your written letters may be different from the font.

20130312-170008.jpg
Once you go over all your letters and thicken your down stokes you will have the finished product. Here is what I did after about fifteen minutes practice.

20130312-170121.jpg
Clearly I need more practice, but it is easier than I thought. When writing your envelopes you will have to be very precise because those letters will be rather small. You may just want to do the first letter in fake calligraphy and the rest in nice script.

I really enjoyed learning this, hats off to the woman who created the tutorial! She is definitely a better artist than I am! Again the original tutorial is here as well as the font I used. Good luck!

One thought on “Calligraphy and Faking It DIY

Leave a Reply

