The Best Kind Of Work AND Pinspiration!

When watching the tail end of the Oscars I got to watch live, I caught Ben Affleck’s Oscar speech. When I heard what he said to his wife I was so pleased. I felt like someone finally acknowledged what no one says out loud. While other people were thanking their “perfect wife” or their “exceptional husband” you always think, “Well that’s sweet.” But when Ben said thank you to his wife for, “working on our marriage for 10 Christmases…It is work, but it’s the best kind of work, and there’s no one I’d rather work with” I almost stood up and cheered because NO ONE ever says that! Why doesn’t anyone ever tell you how much work marriage is going to be? Why do we always get stuck with the fairy tale and not the truth?

Well if no one has told you, Ben and I will. It’s work. Like 80% of marriage is work, but it is the best kind of work. You are working to build something beautiful. You are working to age together, to get to a place where you know each other so well, it seems you know the other person’s thoughts. But people are complicated and can take a lifetime to learn. Marriage is the commitment saying you are willing to stick it out through the hardships, not just of life, but the hardships of living with each other. Some days you can love your husband more than words can express, then other days you would be happier if he moved to Siberia for a few months.

Ben got a lot of flack from what he said, because he made it seem like his marriage was “in trouble,” but really he was just telling a truth that our society has liked to keep buried. As I plan our wedding and go through life with my husband-to-be I find out more and more what it’s like to stick to your promises to each other, even in hard times. I want to hold fast to those promises because, like Ben said, “there is no one I’d rather work with.”

Sorry for the seriousness, I just wanted to share my thoughts on Ben’s speech on marriage, I was really touched by it.
Pinspiration
I thought we could go with a great quote for Pinspiration this week.


I found and re-pinned this from Sarah over at Burnett’s Boards. She ALWAYS has excellent Pinspiration over there!

What do you guys think? Do you agree with Ben’s Oscar speech?

2 thoughts on “The Best Kind Of Work AND Pinspiration!

  1. Nothing to apologize about, I feel the same way. Marriage is work, its ever evolving and you have to adapt to the changes. In many ways its like running a small business (how unromantic is that? But hear me out). You’re under all this pressure on a tight budget, you have to think on your feet and adapt fast and you have to compete against the goliaths in your market (the perfect marriage couples). That’s why communication and hard work are key. Without them you don’t stand a chance.

    Have a great weekend
    Grace

Leave a Reply

