Tips For Trimming The Guest List

I have decided that today or Tuesday is the day when I will print all of my invitations. This is a scary thought. While I believe I have fixed all the problems with the prototype, I am still nervous about making such a big purchase. I want these invites to be perfect and with me DIY-ing a lot of them, maybe they won’t be.

The other (seemingly insurmountable) problem we have to solve is the guest list. Months and months ago we sat down to make a tentative guest-list and have not re-visited it since. As far as I can tell, we were doing alright on numbers, but we have yet to consult with each set of parents to figure out who we should invite. My top number is 50 and I’m super firm on that, especially since that’s pretty much the capacity of the barn where everyone will eat dinner. The number of people you invite also determines your budget. The smaller your guest-list the less you will have to buy and/or spend on vendors. You can find classy venues on the cheap, and you can make your details more elaborate because there will be less people. I think if I had to hold a 200 guest wedding, I would be in even more hot water, monetarily speaking, than I already am!

How do you whittle down that guest list?

First, each of you make a list separately of the friends and family of yours you want to invite. Than get a large piece of paper/white board and a pencil/dry erase marker (I just really like the concept of a white-board for this). Make two columns, The Must Haves and The Maybe Haves. Make your must haves family and very close friends only. And by family I mean more immediate family, leave your second cousins for the maybe haves list. In the next column, write down everyone else. Then, go through each person on the maybe haves list and start to cut. Ask yourself, “How close are we?” “When did I last speak to them?” “If they weren’t there, would that be a real detriment?” Don’t invite someone because you feel obligated to!

Another thing to keep in mind: “Will this single person bring a date?” If the answer is yes, you must either account for that person, or do not leave a space for date-bringing. If they really want to bring another person, they should ask, at least that’s how I feel about it. No place on the R.S.V.P. for a date? Then you can’t have one!

Cutting people is harsh, and feelings may get hurt, but if you can’t afford it, than you can’t afford it. People need to be understanding of the fact that a wedding is a huge financial burden, and sometimes that means cutting people from attending.

If you are STILL having trouble, try this (click on the Image to see a larger version):

While browsing through the never-ending Pinterest void, I came across this very helpful Infographic flow-chart on how to whittle down your guest list. I think it’s a great outline for the right questions to ask! Good luck! Now I have to grab my hubby-to-be so we can get this daunting task done!

Leave a Reply

