I Am A Forgetful Bride

When I think about all that still has to be done, I cringe and/or have nightmares/panic attacks. I don’t even want to think about how it’s going to be a month, two weeks, a week before the wedding. There are so many details to plan and coordinate that I don’t know if I can remember it all! I decided to do some thinking and some research to make a list of things that brides typically forget.

1) Extra Money

Ok, I’ve budgeted for this one, but seriously, emergencies are going to arise that you are going to need extra cash for. I wish I could think of some circumstances right now, but I’m sure, once it happens to me, I will have plenty of examples! So budget for extra cash that day. It may be best just to have actual cash on hand, that way, if someone doesn’t take credit for some reason, you’re not totally out of luck. Also, it is customary to tip vendors, and cash is the best way to get that accomplished as well.

Trunk

2) Packing everything.

For me this means packing up all the decor and projects I’ve worked on in addition to that weeks’ clothing and toiletries. But packing for you could just mean an overnight bag for after the wedding, or packing for your honeymoon. In all the confusion don’t forget to pack what you need! I hate packing under pressure too, so don’t do it the night before, make like a pregnant lady and have a bag packed in advance!

3) Bringing your cell phone charger

I guess this goes along with packing, but that day you are going to need your cell phone and if it’s not charged because you forgot that all important item, your bridezilla moments may get worse! If you are a super forgetful person, you may want to have an extra charger on hand and packed in your bag. It’s always better to have more than less!

4) Remembering important documents

Ok so this is a HUGE one for me. Um, marriage license, bring it. This may seem like a “duh” to most of you, but I hate dealing with legalities and paperwork. I am super awesome with everything money, except the paperwork side of it. I throw out or lose my receipts, and I have important papers sort of strewn about the house. So going to the courthouse with all my “important papers” and filling out a marriage license is one of those big deals that I could very easily put off till the last-minute and forget to do.

Let’s also not forget, for those of you taking exotic vacations, Passports! This one can’t wait till the last-minute, it should be done A.S.A.P.! It takes a little while to process everything, so if you wait till the last-minute, you may not be able to go on your trip!

5) Emergency Kit

Courtesy o’ “The Knot” here is a great list of things to bring and fit into a small bridal emergency kit. Little snafus will happen on the big day, but putting together this little kit can really help. EXTRA bonus if you maid of honor gifts you with her own personal emergency kit made just for you!

  • Aspirin (or pain reliever of choice)
  • Band-Aids
  • Bottle of water
  • Chalk (to cover up any last minute smudges or smears on your wedding dress)
  • Clear nail polish (for stocking runs)
  • Corsage pins
  • Dental floss/toothpicks
  • Eye drops
  • Extra earring backs
  • Extra panty hose
  • Hair pins/ponytail holder
  • Hand towelettes
  • Hem tape
  • Matches
  • Mini sewing kit
  • Safety pins
  • Scotch tape
  • Sedatives (don’t ask!)
  • Small folding scissors
  • Smelling salts (while we don’t expect anyone to faint, it has been known to happen)
  • Spot remover
  • Static-cling spray
  • Straws (so the bride can stay hydrated without messing up her lipstick)
  • Tissues
  • Tweezers

6) Feeding your vendors

This actually factors into extra costs, so make sure to find out the vendors that will need food and count them as one of your guests when you give the final head count to the venue! Sometimes contracts stipulate that you have to feed their people, other times they say it doesn’t matter. I’d say, as a rule, feed your vendors, it’s just nice. 🙂

7) Feed your bridal party

This doesn’t pertain to the reception dinner (I would HOPE you’d feed them at the reception) but I mean throughout the day. Have some food brought to the place you are all getting ready so everyone can snack. The beautify-ing process can be tough and your ladies need rations! Don’t forget about the men either! Boys DEFINITELY need food! Go grocery shopping a day or two before for some food, that way you are full stocked.

8) Feed yourself!

This seems like common sense to me, but I don’t know how many times I’ve heard that brides went through their day without eating a thing! Bad things happen when you don’t eat and drink! Take care of that gorgeous body of yours!

9) Someone to take care of the little details

There are things that are going to happen on your wedding day that are out of your control. Me, being the control freak I am, will want to fix all of these problems. So, in order to not be putting out little fires on the day of my wedding, I will, instead, have someone there to help me get everything accomplished that I need done. Make sure that the person knows the “who, what, when, where, why” of your day’s itinerary and has a copy, that way, if the DJ is playing the wrong song, or there isn’t enough seating for Aunt Sally and Uncle Albert, you have someone who can take care of that!

10) Commit it all to memory

As much as I am telling you all this advice, I’m taking it all down in my own head, and this is a big one. I have heard that the day goes by SO fast, and it is so important for you to remember everything and really enjoy it! So in that spirit, try to commit it all to memory as it’s happening, even the problem parts, because you’ll want to look back one day and remember it all.

Well those are all the important things I can think of. If you have any I should add to the list, please feel free to comment! Since I haven’t gone through it all, I don’t know what to expect!

3 thoughts on “I Am A Forgetful Bride

  1. That is quite a list! Definitely like the idea of an emergency kit. I can’t remember now how I got through it all but I do remember spare cash being useful on the day. I love how much planning you’re posting every day. It sounds like you are going to have an unforgettable wedding!

Leave a Reply

