Registering & Avoiding Its Headaches

I did it. I registered. For stuff. I know, I know, we have A LOT of stuff, but there are a few things we need/want. I still plan on registering for a honeymoon fund. I still have this unsettling feeling about the little fees that come with it, but I just feel that a honeymoon fund is really right for us.

I decided to go with MyRegistry.com, which allows you to pretty much register for anything you want on the internet. If you can dream it, you can register for it. But something else comes with registering that I wasn’t expecting…guilt. Am I weird? I hate asking people for stuff! I get we are throwing this big party for our wedding, but asking all of our friends and family to come from all over to attend is asking a lot, and then “oh by the way, please bring a gift” on top of that seems like too much. I feel like picking cool things we want is like making us entitled. “We got married, so we totally deserve that ice cream maker…” Seriously, ice cream maker, is on our “must buy” list, so I registered for it.

So if you can get past the horrible guilt of wedding charity, here are a few ways to make the process of registering easier.

1) Register at a bunch of different places. Now, I sort of did that by going to MyRegistry.com. I just went to a bunch a different stores and picked the items I wanted. You can also register with all those different places and sync your lists in that one place.

Yes! There is an Etsy wedding registry! I suddenly have TONS more room for stuff in my house!

2) To abate my guilt in asking for stuff, I have made sure nearly everything on my registry is affordable. The most expensive stuff is bedding…apparently to have a basic necessity of life you need to shell out 200 plus dollars on it. Other than that, everything is under (way under) $100. You can register for expensive things, but if everything on your list is expensive, than people like me, on my income, cannot afford to get you a wedding gift. Have some things on there for every budget, and give your guests the option of being generous.

3) Read the FAQ of every site! So important, because many sites can have fees, and if you can avoid it, you shouldn’t pay fees!

4) Make sure your address is hidden, even from your guests, it just makes it easier to protect you and your identity, especially if your registry is universally searchable on the site.

5) Think of keeping duplicate gifts! Just because you got a ton of dishes, doesn’t mean some of your stuff won’t break, and you have the back up dishes to replace it! If not (and you are the most careful person ever), you can always sell it or pass it on to a family member. And, you didn’t hear this from me…but you can…re-gift…

And remember, if no one buys anything from your registry, it’s ok! Most people are more comfortable giving cash in a card at a wedding. Nowadays, guests feel it’s more polite and useful to give cash.

Leave a Reply

