Truth-Time and Engagement Shoot

I have been tossing around in my brain whether to say anything about this shoot. You see, I don’t want anyone to get the idea that I am some sort of wedding-crazed chick who is planning a wedding on her own without the possibility of a “formal” proposal. I am sort of tossing around in my brain whether I should believe that about myself. This whole process, for me, has been very logical. We decided to get married together, we shopped for a ring together, we start saving money immediately. This probably wouldn’t have been too much of an issue, but some life circumstances caused the wedding to be bumped up to 2013, leaving me to plan my little heart out, but also sort of rushing my future hubby along.

I am very torn, in a way, I don’t want to rush him, but at the same time, wedding in a year ACK! My logical brain says “CAN’T WAIT! MUST PLAN!” So right now what it looks like is I am plowing through with my wedding plans without giving any time to let things happen or time for him to sweep me off my feet. Every couple is different, and fitting in with the conventional has never been my style, but I can’t help but think, am I some crazy psycho bride, ruining the experience for myself? I have reassurance from the boy, that everything is okay, that I shouldn’t worry and that he feels we are already engaged so to hell with formality. But I still worry…it seems to be what I do best.

Nevertheless, time marches on, and we really are excited about this shoot! Today, we are both going clothes shopping and shoot-location scouting. What a guy I have! Willing to take a girl clothes shopping, and knowing him, he’ll love every minute of it!

Our shoot will be in the lovely Portland, Maine, filled to the brim with history, art, and beautiful locations for photographs! I though I’d share with you a bit of Portland by pointing out possible places for the photo shoot.

Portland Head Light

Bug Light
Photo By John Paquette

Portland has some great Lighthouses that would be a really cool backdrop to any photo shoot, not to mention really capture the spirit of Maine!

I am the history buff, I love learning the history of the places I live and visit, so I really wanted to incorporate the historical side of Portland into our shoot as well. There are some great old houses and old libraries that would be amazing for a shoot.

Wadsworth-Longfellow House

Portland Observatory

TIP! If you want to have your photo shoot in historical buildings make sure you check or call ahead first, not every place likes people taking pictures. Scouting locations is really the best way to make your vision come together AND get permission to shoot there!

The Time And Temperature Building

This is one of the tallest buildings in Portland, and it is really Old World looking inside and out. It might be a fun place to capture a few photos!

We also would like a few outdoor locations, and of course throughout the city are scattered some great parks, even one with a waterfall!

Deering Oaks Park

Jewell Falls

Portland also has a colorful artsy side, and that can be seen on some of the downtown buildings.

Blue Print Mural

Asylum
Courtesy Google Maps

We may like history and nature but we also have a huge artsy, nerdy side to us so I think the cool graffiti spots in Portland will be a great backdrop to bring out that side.

There’s the brief tour of Portland! We are really excited about the shoot. I probably need to get over my reservations about “formalities,” I am enjoying the planning process and everything that is coming with it. Starting this journey has been one of the best experiences of my life, and I don’t think, if I could go back, I would change a thing. I hope you don’t mind my sharing. Thanks for listening. 🙂

If you ever get a chance to come visit Maine, Portland should definitely be on your “to-do” list! I may have shown you some cool locations but it’s really the FOOD you must experience!

One thought on “Truth-Time and Engagement Shoot

Leave a Reply

