My Second Love

I am 100% completely in love with food. Everything about it, preparing it, smelling it, tasting it…all of it. If it weren’t for my rigorous exercise regimen I am pretty sure I would have to be rolled out of my house. Surprisingly, when it comes to wedding food, my tastes are very simple. When I was a child my favorite meal, no joke, was box macaroni and cheese, ham-steak, and applesauce. I was pretty easy to please. 🙂 So while that probably won’t be served at our wedding, we will have pretty simple tastes. One word will hopefully define our food: cookout. We are total fans of grilling, especially in the summer. Summers in Maine are cherished because there is maybe four months of warmth before the chill sets in again, so at the first hint of warm weather (which here is 55-60 degrees) Mainers break out the grilling stuff.

Now for the choosing of food. At first I thought this was a plus for our venue, but now I’m thinking it’s a minus, the venue comes with catering. Because of our simple tastes and wanting a BBQ the food cost is low, but the staff still has to be paid, driving the cost up. It’s too bad we couldn’t just borrow a grill, get the men to run it, and serve everyone burgers, fries and potato salad. When I seriously thought of my dream wedding atmosphere, it was like when I went to church pot luck dinners and everyone tried all different kinds of home cooking. I must have eaten my weight in food at those dinners.

So I want to share with you some DELICIOUS looking food that is inspiring the feel for our wedding:

Burgers, Fries, and Pickles! MMMMM!

Gotta have my Mac!

Delicious oven-baked chips! Awesome for a cocktail hour summer snack!

Zucchini Bites! A little healthier than chips but just as delicious!

What is more homey and comforting than breakfast for dinner!

And of course, one of the most important wedding aspects: the cake! My dream cake is probably too expensive, but I love it so!

This website has all sorts of rustic wedding cakes!

Wedding cake tip: Get buttercream. It’s cheaper and tastes SO much better than fondant. Fondant may look cleaner, but it is just nasty tasting, trust me.

There is another wedding cake I just LOVE and I even has the recipe to make it. I dare not make it myself. I may be a baker, but there is no way I could trust myself to make my own wedding cake.

Too Cute!!!

The catering company told me that the cheapest way to go is cupcakes. I don’t know if I can make that step. I love cake, I especially love beautiful and decorative cakes. I know cupcakes can be decorative, but…but…I love tiered cake…here are some cute cupcakes that I think would still be awesome to use in place of a tiered cake.

Who doesn’t love chocolate?

I love the way these look! They could be mixed in there with the chocolate for a pretty display!

Love the special Bride and Groom Cupcakes!

And of course a great display to go with everything!

So we have a lot of decisions to make and prices to think about! What will the food at your wedding be like? Forma dining or hometown cooking? Are you having a tiered cake? I’d love to see it! Remember to Keep In Touch!

4 thoughts on “My Second Love

Leave a Reply

